FIFA World Cup Today Matches

Warning: file_get_contents( [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found in /home/content/26/11117626/html/wp-content/themes/smart-themes/functions/theme_functions.php on line 353

Messi bags Golden Ball amid Argentina loss to Germany

Messi bags Golden Ball amid Argentina loss to Germany

The “best player in the world” was awarded the Golden Ball accolade for the outstanding performances he displayed in the recently concluded 2014 FIFA World Cup—this and all behind Argentina’s defeat to Germany in the final 1-0. But despite the recognition, the Barca star was clearly not feeling blithe while accepting the trophy.


Messi must be one of the saddest people in the world right now, having failed to lift the World Cup trophy for his country and after enduring all the struggles he had to deal with en route to the finals. He is often considered to be the greatest footballer of his generation and a World Cup win would have been a very nice crown to top his huge arsenal of awards.


Many spectators questioned the honor and thought many others deserved it more, with mentions of Argen Robben, Thomas Muller, Golden Boot winner James Rodriguez, and the all-time top World Cup scorer Miroslav Klose. However, it cannot also be denied that Messi was [almost] the sole machine to bring Argentina to the finals, scoring the majority of the goals they netted. He was arguably the best player to captain his team in this World Cup.


Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho told The DailyMail that the Argentina captain deserves respect “more than ever” after Argentina came so close to being crowned world champions.


“It’s easy to respect him when he has won but when he has lost, it’s not so easy,” said the coach. “He is still a historical player. He does not need to be world champion to be a historical player, especially in this last decade.”


Argentina advanced to the finals for the very first time since 1990. Germany won over Albiceleste on extra time with an impressive volley from Mario Gotze. This is the Germans’ fourth World Cup title, tying with Italy as the country with the second most number of wins after Brazil.


(Featured image: Lionel Messi | Source: FIFA)

You might also like