FIFA World Cup Today Matches

Warning: file_get_contents( [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found in /home/content/26/11117626/html/wp-content/themes/smart-themes/functions/theme_functions.php on line 353

Germany moving mountains to earn fourth World Cup title

Germany moving mountains to earn fourth World Cup title

While they are still two challenges away from the 2014 FIFA World Cup finale, Germany are already preparing themselves for a hugely possible overall victory. The side, who are to face Brazil on Tuesday for the semi-finals in Belo Horizonte, have so far been very successful in almost all of their endeavors in the past few weeks. Their quarter-final triumph over France via clean sheet helped them gain new fans and win back their old supporters following a moderately impressive show in the Round of 16 against Algeria. With Brazil star player Neymar injured, the Germans’ chance at winning the penultimate World Cup battle seemed even more reachable.


Midfielder André Schürrle believes that this year was specially designed for Germany, that the World Cup is finally going back to the rightful owners of three titles. Schürrle also felt that he and his teammates shoulder less pressure than Brazil and that they can capitalize on this facet to win the war over.


“We have this feeling,” expressed the 23-year old Chelsea player. “We are really close and you feel that everybody wants this. We have a big opportunity now to win the title. The last years, we were close. Now, we want this so much… We fight and we give everything. We’ve had some tight matches but we’ve deserved to win every game we have won.”


In the record-breaking Miroslav Klose, the side have a dependable experience. In Thomas Muller and Mario Gotze, the squad have a very strong midfield. However, goal scoring is not the only thing that Germany should be proud of. Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer has shown tremendous skills and his excellent saves have allowed Die Mannschaft earn three clean sheets in just five matches.


Germany secured their fourth consecutive berth in the World Cup semi-finals after they thumped their French rivals on Friday—beating South Korea in 2002 and losing to Italy and Spain in 2006 and 2010, respectively. They last won the tournament at the 1990 edition in Italy.


 (Featured Image: Germany | Source: FIFA)

You might also like