FIFA World Cup Today Matches

Warning: file_get_contents( [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found in /home/content/26/11117626/html/wp-content/themes/smart-themes/functions/theme_functions.php on line 353

Germany Lifts World Cup Trophy, Thanks To Gotze’s Late Goal

Germany Lifts World Cup Trophy, Thanks To Gotze’s Late Goal

Mario Gotze’s late goal ended Germany’s 8-year World Cup drought and therefore, clinched the most coveted silverware in all footballing tournament.



It was never an easy win for the Germans. La Albiceleste’s stingy defence almost forced another penalty shootout if not for Die Mannschaft’s late rally.
Early in the match, Toni Kroos made a crucial mistake that almost granted Argentina the early lead. It must have been Kroos’ lucky day as the shot did not go inside the net.


Gonzalo Higuain also had his share of spoils in the competition. The Napoli striker made an early celebration after netting a goal, only to find out that it was offside.
Throughout the encounter, both Argentina and Germany had their own dose of near misses.


However, it was Gotze’s substitution, which made the difference. It gave Die Mannschaft additional pace and speed that were able to bypass La Alibiceleste’s defence wall and true enough, Andre Schurrle saw an opening and a clinical Gotze converted.


Breaking the record

With his winning goal, Gotze becomes the only substitute in a World Cup final to bring victory. In addition, he also becomes the youngest goal scorer since Wolfgang Weber.


Yet, prior to Gotze’s clinical goal, Die Mannschaft has already broken several World Cup when it destroyed Brazil.


The scene-stealer

Certainly, Die Mannschaft is the sole scene-stealer in the competition. Currently, it is a title short to match Brazil’s five (5) World Cup trophies. They are now tied with Italy with four (4) championships under their belt.

World Cup betting odds has long been rooting for Germany to win the World Cup trophy. And they did secure the title. Germany is the 2014 World Cup champion.


Image Source: SB Nation


You might also like